Two Critical Factors for Success at Work


Throughout my career in marketing and advertising, I never had anyone take me by the hand, teach me or help me in any significant way. Despite this, I have consistently moved up the ranks and I continue to receive new opportunities and challenges, all of which I am thankful for. There are two critical factors that help me meet my goals:

Motivation
Staying motivated is a key to my success. My personal motivator is the love of learning. I want to become more knowledgeable on a variety of topics. I consistently seek out as much information as possible from classes, webinars, books, peers, industry events, and experts in my field. Then I look for ways to apply that knowledge. I just finished the Facebook Success Summit where I learned a ton of great social media tips and tricks to use for my job.

Facebook Success Summit Certificate of Achievement

My Motivation

In order to stay motivated at work, you need to figure out what makes you happy. A recent article on Forbes.com lists the 10 happiest jobs. You may be surprised…is yours on the list?

Responsibility
When I was coming up the ranks, I didn’t expect anything from anyone. The companies I worked for paid me to do a job and that is what I did. If there were things I didn’t know how to do, I figured them out on my own and got them done. I also addressed areas of weakness on my own. For example, public speaking was not my strong suit, so I did everything in my power to overcome this obstacle. I attended training sessions, hired a speaking coach, and volunteered to make more presentations at work. I didn’t ask the company to pay for my training. I continue to take responsibility for my career.

Of course there are many other things you can do to advance your career, but these are two steps you just can’t miss. So if you are just starting out on your career path or you’ve just hit a speed bump, think about jumping into the captain’s chair so you can chart your own course to happiness.

Categories: Uncategorized

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

