Understanding Google+ and Social Media Research Results


ID-100135752 blog photo

Image courtesy of franky242 at http://www.FreeDigitalPhotos.net

As a marketer, I can never get enough data and research to help direct my marketing strategies and tactics. I find that a plan grounded in data can lead to insightful, creative and unique ideas to help my brand rise above the incessant noise that the average person is subject to on a daily basis.

I often use secondary research to support my marketing plans.  I hunt for juicy data from well-known, reliable sources. When I find survey and study results, I always ask myself questions to make sure that I’m not misinterpreting the findings that could lead me down the wrong path.  Study results are based on a variety of factors including not only who gets surveyed, but how, when and where they get surveyed.

For example, I recently tried to find out information about Google+.  In my research I came across a few studies that at first blush seemed to offer conflicting information.  Upon further examination, it appeared each study was correct; they simply measured different things:

Global Web Index – Ranks Google+ #2 in Active Usage (December 2012)

Hitwise – Ranks Google+ #7 in total visits (January 26 – February 9, 2013)

The Pew Research  study released last week provides some fantastic demographic information about top social sites, but doesn’t even bother to mention Google+.

So why such dramatic discrepancies?  Here are just a few things to consider:

  • Methodology: Some studies were conducted by phone and others were not. Self-reported results by respondents on the phone may impact the outcome.
  • Measurements:  What is actually being measured varies with each study.
  • Geography:  The Global Web Index is global, obviously, while the other two studies were conducted in the U.S.
  • Timing:  While the dates of each of these studies was not far apart, it is something that could impact results.

Based on this example, if my target is a global audience, the first study may be more relevant to me. 

The bottom line is secondary research can prove to be a great asset in your planning efforts.  However, you must look very closely not only at the findings, but how, when and where any studies were conducted.

Categories: Business, Marketing, Social Media

Tags: , , , , , , ,

1 reply

  1. Ms. Zoeller is correct. Knowing your target audience and how to reach them will be key to your success.

Leave a Reply

